Table of Contents
New Jersey car owners are required to get their vehicles inspected every two years unless they purchase a new car which has a 5-year initial inspection window. The New Jersey State inspection is designed to make sure that there are no major emissions-related issues with your vehicle, which ensures that your car meets standards for producing minimal pollution. Essentially, you need to make sure that the “check engine”, “service engine” or “emissions” warning lights are not on, which could indicate a problem the vehicle. If any of these warning lights are you need to address whatever is malfunctioning to cause these lights to stay on.
Are you in jeopardy of being stopped by the police, possibly getting a ticket? In the left-hand corner of your windshield, do you know what the date is on your New Jersey state inspection sticker? Is it time to have your vehicle inspected, are you possibly past due?
Hi, I’m Nancy at Kneble’s Auto Service Center. Did you know you can have your vehicle inspected up to two months prior to its due date? Now the items you will need for your New Jersey state inspection is the registration, the insurance card. Now make sure the insurance card is not a facsimile or an email saying you’re insured. And make sure that the registration and the insurance card are in the same name. And of course, you will need your driver’s license. Make sure that’s valid. Now, when you go to the state or private facility to have your vehicle inspected, only emissions are tested.
And the reason why? Because here in New Jersey, we want to help improve the quality of air. But as an added service here at Kneble’s Auto, we’re going to let you know if your lights are not working, if your brakes are not operating properly, and we’re going to inform you of your tire condition. Why? Because we’ve got your back. You could possibly get a summons for having an unsafe vehicle. Now if the vehicle passes, then you get a new sticker put in the corner of your windshield, replacing the old one. If your vehicle fails, repairs are required. No grace period. State facilities, they issue a red sticker. But here at Kneble’s Auto private facilities, we don’t get red stickers. We have to cut your sticker in half. Now if you fail, you have two options. You can take your vehicle to a licensed emissions repair facility. Here at Kneble’s Auto, we are.
Or you can fix your own vehicle. Now, you fix your own vehicle, keep those receipts of the parts you purchased as you will need to present them at the time of the re-inspection. The timeframe to repair is one month from the last day of the month that is on your sticker on your windshield.
But remember, at any time, law enforcement can give you a summons for equipment out of compliance, meaning failure to repair. Be aware there are some exemptions for not needing a New Jersey state inspection, such as vehicles that are 1995 or older. Now, check to see if you’re following those parameters.
Now, for any of those who moved to New Jersey and you’ve been for here for at least six months, you’re required to transfer that vehicle’s title to New Jersey regardless of whether there’s a lien or no lien on the vehicle. And then you have 60 days once you’ve established residence to register the vehicle, and then you have 14 days to inspect it.
Welcome to New Jersey. Push the share button. Welcome everybody in New Jersey. Informed them about the New Jersey state process. Press the like button. Any comments or questions below. I’d be happy to answer. Enjoy living in New Jersey.
Preparing for Your New Jersey State Inspection
Kneble’s Auto Service Center is an authorized New Jersey state inspection facility, so we can assist you in making sure your car is prepared for your inspection. We can also perform your New Jersey State Inspection when you are ready.
NOTE: In addition to the vehicle, you must bring your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and insurance information to the inspection.
Ready to Make An Appointment For Your New Jersey State Inspection?
At Kneble’s Auto Service Center we always want to make the process of getting your car inspected as convenient as possible. To ensure that we can get your car inspected in a timely manner, we ask that you make an appointment.
We are often able to accommodate those who desire to wait for their New Jersey State Inspection as we feature a comfortable waiting area complete with TV, complimentary refreshments, a library, a desk, and a charging station. And yes, we even have free Wi-Fi!
If you need service and have not made an appointment you can always feel free to call us at (609) 625-3286 to get on the schedule.
Please note that we offer a shuttle service within a 10 miles radius of the shop (Somers Point, Longport, Brigantine, Pleasantville, and surrounding areas).
Frequently Asked Questions About New Jersey State Inspections:
You need to bring the following:
– Your Driver‘s License
– Vehicle Registration
– Your Car Insurance Information
You will have a 30-day grace period timeframe in which you will need to make any repairs and have the vehicle reinspected.
You may be subject to fines of $100 to $200 and/or the potential for imprisonment for up to 30 days. Additionally, your car registration can be revoked.
Schedule an Appointment for Your New Jersey State Inspection
New Jersey State Inspection Knowledge Base
New Jersey State Inspection Videos
New Jersey State Inspection Articles
Moving into Mays Landing, New Jersey from out-of-state? Welcome! Learn about where and how you can get your NJ State Inspection for your car!