Has your vehicle failed the NJ State Inspection? Nancy explains the steps you need to take to fix the issue & pass the re-inspection.
What do you do when your vehicle didn’t pass New Jersey State inspection?
Do you think you can go to any service center to get your vehicle repaired?
Well, unfortunately, you cannot. Because once you fail New Jersey State inspection, you have 30 days, not from when it failed, but 30 days from the last day of the month that is shown on your inspection sticker that’s in your windshield.
Hi, I’m Nancy at Kneble’s Auto Service Center.
You know what stinks?
What stinks is failing the New Jersey State inspection, but what stinks more is missing my other videos such as, “Do I still need to even get my vehicle state inspected?” To view other videos, subscribe, like, and follow us on our newsletter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. Choose your preference of choice for viewing our videos.
For some of you, this may mean you technically have no extra time to get the vehicle repaired and reinspected because you procrastinated like my son is guilty of doing sometimes.
Be aware, you can get a ticket for a failure to repair if you’re driving with a failed inspection over the allotted timeframe of 30 days from the last day of the month that is on your inspection sticker.
You still need to find a repair center to fix that problem. Well, if you’re in Mays Landing, always you can schedule with us here at Kneble’s Auto Service Center. As we are a being a private inspection facility, which means you can repair your vehicle with us and have it reinspected at 5473 Somers Point Road, where we’re located.
You do not have to return to the state inspection center because we are a one-stop-shop. If it’s not us, you need to make sure you have the repair done at a New Jersey certified emission repair facility as it’s the law, or of course, you have the option to repair your own vehicle.
Once the repair is complete, more choices to make. You can go back to the state station for that re-inspection, or if the emission repair facility is also a private inspection center like we are, then they can reinspect your vehicle following the repair done. It’s a little confusing. Of course, it is, why? Because the state wrote the rules.
Also, remember the paperwork needed when you go back for the re-inspection is the original failure paper that you got from the private inspection facility or the state station, wherever you went for the initial inspection. Bring that with you and the emission repair form has to be filled out by the certified emission repair facility when the repair is done, or you may also fill out that form if you did the repair, also bringing along receipts for the parts you used doing that repair.
It’s so much easier to seek out a New Jersey emission repair facility who is also a New Jersey private inspection center. So everything can be done all at one facility and there’s no jumping around from place to place.
Thank you for watching.
And remember, we are always here for your next NJ state inspection or all of your car care needs.
Feel free to contact us at (609) 625-3286. And remember, watch our videos every weekday Wednesday at 12:30. Thank you.